An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Holloman Airman wins Air Force Medical Service Award

  • Published
  • By Airman 1st Class Michael Shoemaker
  • 49th Wing Public Affairs
The Air Force Medical Service announced the 2012 award winners on Feb. 5, recognizing a local Master Sgt., Christopher Dwyer 49th Aerospace Medicine Squadron superintendent, for the Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Leadership Award.

The SNCO Leadership Award focuses on the ability to lead a team through a successful mission and the quality of the leadership skills that bring that team together.

Dwyer was a part of multiple teams throughout the year, including a deployed team, joint task force, emergency response technicians preparing for mass casualties at the Olympic Games in addition to his role at the 49th Medical Group at Holloman AFB.

"That's what it's about, the team you're a part of," said Dwyer, "You get the praise a lot of times when your team does well, you know like the Heisaman trophy winner for football, it's a team sport. There's no difference here."

Dwyer learned that he had received the award when he got an email from a friend.

Dwyer said, "I was excited but mostly humbled."

The AFMS was created in 1949 and consists of all enlisted medical technicians and five distinct medical corps including the Biomedical Sciences Corps, Dental Corps, Medical Corps, Medical Service Corps, Nurse Corps.