An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2011 MAF award presented to 317th AG Airmen

  • Published
  • By Airman 1st Class Jonathan Stefanko
  • 7th Bomb Wing Public Affairs
Two Airmen from the 317th Airlift Group were recognized as the Mobility Air Forces 2011 Tactician of the Year Nov. 8 during an award ceremony, at the Advanced Airlift Tactics Training Center, in Rosecrans Air National Guard Base, Mo.

Each year, MAF officials recognize tacticians for their outstanding contributions to the airdrop, airland and aero medical evacuation disciplines of the Mobility Air Forces.

This year, Maj. Justin Brumley, 317th AG, was selected for his numerous initiatives advancing the safe and effective joint precision airdrop capabilities.

Tech. Sgt. Ryan Crumrine, 317th AG, was also named MAF 2011 Tactician of the Year, but was unable to attend the ceremony due to a deployment.

"It is a great honor to receive this award but it takes a team to succeed," Brumley said. "This wouldn't have been possible without the hard work and dedication of my team from Dyess and Fort Hood."

As chief of group tactics, Brumley strategized the safest way to complete airdrop and low-level missions for the 317th AG.

A few of Brumley's accomplishments that led to receiving of this award included planning and flying four combat JPADS airdrops during Operation Enduring Freedom, defining precision guided bundle collision mitigation techniques to ensure all bundles reached their intended point of impact and dropping the first JPADS airdrops above 10,000 feet on local training lines.
"It is in my core to be the best I can be no matter the operation," Brumley said. "It was never about the award. It was to ensure each mission was completed safely."

During the ceremony, Brumley was also presented with the highly coveted Joe Jackson Award, which is presented to an aircrew member who contributed the most within mobility aviation during the preceding year.

Selection is based on accomplishment or demonstrated proficiency of the highest order in one or more of the following areas; a significant achievement in mobility tactics development, application of innovation weapons or tactics employment, or instruction or evaluation of tactics that is of a magnitude to significantly contribute to increased readiness of the MAF.

"Justin and Ryan represent the very best of both the 317th Airlift Group and the Mobility Air Forces. Each strives to not only accomplish the mission at hand but to make lasting contributions affecting the mobility community at large." Lt. Col. Gerald Donohue, 317th AG deputy commander. "They are bold innovators developing tactics techniques and procedures for the current fight and the next one. We could not be more proud."